Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 

Saturday, December 20, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 27.0° F  Light Snow Fog/Mist
The Daily
Share on Google+
Announcing nominees for the 2012 MAMAs
Nominees for MAMAs Artist of the Year include Sexy Ester.
Nominees for MAMAs Artist of the Year include Sexy Ester.

Saturday night at the Brink Lounge, nominations were announced for the Madison Area Music Awards. Nominees compete in more than 50 categories, including Album, Song and Performer nods in numerous music genres, as well as Artist of the Year and various instrumentalist and business categories.

Now in their ninth year, the MAMAs salute Madison's music scene each spring with a lavish awards ceremony. This year's takes place at Overture Center's Capitol Theater on June 2. The second round of voting gets under way today and ends May 5. Visit the MAMAs website for details.

Here are the nominees for the 2012 Madison Area Music Awards.

Alternative Album
Tiny Riots - Platonic
Cribshitter - Methlehem
Chaos Revolution Theory - Brainwash
The Type - Sirens and Storms

Blues Album
The Jimmys - Gimme The Jimmys
Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo - 10:49
The Blue Olives - Pimento Project
Kyle Henderson - Life Goes On

Compilation Album
Twenty and Mr.PS - Family Buzinezz Vol. 1

Country/Bluegrass Album
Oak Street Ramblers - The Oak Street Ramblers
Katie Powderly - Slips of the Tongue
The Getaway Drivers - Black Dog Days
Louka Patenaude - The Very Best of the Fingers

Electronic Album
Man Mantis - Cities Without Houses

Folk/Americana Album
Whitney Mann - The Western Sky
Corey Hart - Winter Bones
Daniel and the Lion - Sweet Teeth
Josh Harty - Nowhere

Hard Rock/Punk Album
Lords of the Trident - Chains on Fire
Orphan Bloom - The Wary Traveler
Venus in Furs - Welcome to the Club
The United Sons of Toil - When The Revolution Comes, Everything Will Be Beautiful

Hip-Hop Album
Star Persons - Weirdos From Another Planet
Sincere Life 7 - Dreams In My Notebook
Twenty and Mr.PS - Classic Radio

Pop/R&B Album
Ida Jo - Singer In the Band
Anna Wang and the Oh Boys! - Drive Fast
Phat Phunktion - Real Life .:. High Fidelity
The Big Payback - Overture

Rock Album
Sunspot - The Slingshot Effect
Mojo Radio - Mojo Radio
John Masino Band - John Masino Band Really?
Colorphase - V2

Unique Album
The Cast of Z-town: The Zombie Musical - Z-Town: The Zombie Musical
Art Paul Schlosser - If I Was Governor
Brandon Beebe - In This Place Jackie Bradley - Disciplined Indulgence

World Album
Roots Collective - These Days
The Dustbunnies - What Goes Around
salaam shalom - Salaam Shalom
Melissa Simonson - Be a Light

Classical Album
The Kat Trio - What Wondrous Love Is This

Alternative Performer
Tiny Riots
Chaos Revolution Theory
Katie Scullin
Magic 7

Blues Performer
Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo
The Jimmys
The People Brothers Band
Kyle Henderson

Folk/Americana Performer
Whitney Mann
Corey Hart
Josh Harty
The Whiskey Farm

Hard Rock/Punk Performer
Lords of the Trident
Orphan Bloom
Venus in Furs
The United Sons of Toil

Hip-Hop Performer
Star Persons
Twenty and Mr.PS

Jazz Performer
The Madison Jazz Orchestra
The Rotation
Lovely Socialite Mrs. Thomas W. Phipps

Pop/R&B Performer
Phat Phunktion
Ida Jo
Mark Croft
Charm School Rejects

Rock Performer
John Masino Band
The Blue Olives
Mojo Radio
The Big Payback

Unique Performer
Art Paul Schlosser
FORWARD! Marching Band
Brandon Beebe

Country/Bluegrass Performer
Greg Dierks
Katie Powderly
Louka Patenaude

Electronic Performer
Fambly Fun!
Man Mantis

World Performer
Natty Nation

New Artist Performer
The Whiskey Farm
The People Brothers Band
Tiny Riots
Brandon Beebe

Alternative Song
Sexy Ester - Glitter Baby
Tiny Riots - Ecstatic
A Torrid Affair - Vulture Eye
Das Binky - White Collar Suicide
Sky Road Fly - Coyote

Blues Song
Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo - 10:49
The Jimmys - HaDaya HaDaYa
The Big Payback - Shuffle
Mojo Radio - Boneshaker

Country/Bluegrass Song
Beth Kille - I've Been Accused
Louka Patenaude - A Room in the Desert (160 BPM)
Katie Powderly - Tables, Turning
Oak Street Ramblers - Blue-Eyed Baby

Electronic Song
Man Mantis - Gonna Die Here
Sun Voyage - Love and Sweat
Das Binky - Awakening Bethlehem
Fambly Fun! - Clawed, Broken Jawed

Folk/Americana Song
Whitney Mann - Home
Corey Hart - Extinguish
Daniel and the Lion - The Chase
The Whiskey Farm - If I Were You

Hard Rock/Punk Song
Lords of the Trident - Chains on Fire 2011
M.A.XMAS - Drunk For Christmas
John Masino Band - Not Enough
The Type - All My Fault
Magic 7 - Cheetah

Hip-Hop Song
Star Persons - Wordplay
Anthony Lamarr - City of Change
Keefe Klug - The One
Tefman of the L.O.S.T S.O.U.L.S - Do It For The Love

Jazz Song
The Big Payback - Overture
Robert J. - That's Where Your Mojo Is
Melissa Simonson - Mr. Shame
The Blue Olives - I Won't Let You Get Away Again

Pop/R&B Song
Sexy Ester - All I Can See
Ida Jo - Judgment
Star Persons - Kaleidoscope
Anna Wang and the Oh Boys! - Fickle Heart

Rock Song
Sexy Ester - Fever Las Vegas
Sunspot - The Slingshot Effect
Anna Wang and the Oh Boys! - Drive Fast
Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo - Devil's Playground

Unique Song
Katie Powderly - Blue
Cribshitter - Boom Goes The Vaginamite
Star Persons - Brazza Brazza
The Whiskey Farm - Happy
The Jimmys - The Tree
The Big Payback - Jackal in a Suit

World Song
NATTY NATION - Negus Negast
Roots Collective - Chain Reaction
The Grasshoppers - Cup Of Dreams
The Dustbunnies - Nancy Spain

Interpretive Song
Sexy Ester - Girl U Want
Kitty Harris - Take Me Home
Jackie Bradley - Hallelujah
The Blue Olives - Three Hour Tour

Artist of the Year
Sexy Ester
Corey Hart
The Jimmys
Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo

Cover Band
The Gomers
Hometown Sweethearts
The Blue Olives
Charm School Rejects

Man Mantis
The Real Jaguar
DJ Fusion
DJ Pain 1

Ensemble Vocals
Natty Nation
The People Brothers Band
The Blue Olives
Star Persons

Fan of the Year
Sarah Warmke
John Urban
Cathy Dethmers
Marco Pogo

Instrument - Woodwinds
Pete Ross
Dave Buss
Al Falaschi
Joan Herzing

Instrumentalist - Bassist
Jeff Weiss
JAH Boogie
Jeff Funk

Instrumentalist - Brass
Charley Wagner
Jamie Kember
Anton Seda
Darren Sterud

Instrumentalist - Drummer/Percussionist
Paul Kennedy
Eric Shackelford
Francisco Martinez
Nicky Sund

Instrumentalist - Guitarist
Aaron Williams
John Masino
Louka Patenaude
Art Paul Schlosser

Instrumentalist - Keyboardist
Jimmy Voegeli
Roscoe Evans
Aaron "A-Keysy" Konkol
Ben Hoffmann

Instrumentalist - Specialty Instrument
Art Paul Schlosser (Kazoo)
Roscoe Evans (Keytar)
Anthony Lamarr (Vocal Percussion/Beatbox)
Man Mantis (MPC 2000XL)

Instrumentalist - Strings
Ida Jo
Chris Wagoner
Julia McConahay
Bruce Brusoe

Live Music Venue
High Noon Saloon
The Frequency
Barrymore Theatre
The Brink Lounge

Live Sound Engineer
Lonya Nenashev
Mark Weber
Lou Cassis
Dustin Boyle

Local Music Publication/Blog
Maximum Ink
A.V. Club
Dane 101

Local Radio Personality
Gabby Parsons
Jonathan and Kitty
Jim Schwall
Kurt Barron

Local Radio Station
WORT (89.9 FM)
Triple M (105.5 FM)
WSUM (91.7 FM)
Max Ink Radio

Local Record Music Store
B Side Records and Discs
Exclusive Company
Strictly Discs
Sugar Shack

Recording Studio
Smart Studios
Paradyme Productions
Blast House

Studio Sound Engineer
Mark Whitcomb
Brian Daly
Scott Lamps
Mike Zirkel

Video of the Year
Sexy Ester - Glitter Baby
Lords of the Trident - Chains on Fire Music Video
Whitney Mann - Miss You On The Farm
Man Mantis - Red Dragonfly

Vocalist - Female
Whitney Mann
Ida Jo
Lyndsay Evans
Anna Wang

Vocalist - Male
Corey Hart
Aaron Williams
Mark Croft
Kyle Henderson

Share on Google+

Log in or register to comment

Select a Movie
Select a Theater

Promotions Contact us Privacy Policy Jobs Newsletters RSS
Collapse Photo Bar