Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 

Friday, November 28, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 28.0° F  Fog/Mist
The Daily
Share on Google+
Glitz and hits at the 2013 Madison Area Music Awards
Tefman rocks the red carpet.
Tefman rocks the red carpet.
Credit:Joseph Engle

The local music community celebrated the Madison Area Music Awards' 10th anniversary Sunday night at Overture Center's Capitol Theater. Attendees also honored Madison performers, radio personalities, music venues and sound technicians with more than 70 awards.

The theater buzzed with excitement as nominees paraded across a red carpet in outfits that ranged from elegant (ladies in evening gowns) to edgy (bearded dudes in kilts and T-shirts). Upbeat host John Urban garnered laughs with his humorous asides, and a few tears were shed by thankful performers and friends of the many musicians Madison has lost in the past year.

Performances included a beautiful rendition of "Die Trying" by local singer-songwriter Anna Vogelzang, an "On, Wisconsin" medley from members of the UW marching band and an entrancing desert-blues jam by Tani Diakite & the Afrofunkstars. The most inventive performance may have been by R&B artist Anthony Lamarr, who rapped with Smokes, D.L.O. and Clifton Beefy as backup dancers twirled about in choir robes. Fans even got a glimpse of Madison Ballet's Dracula as Marguerite Luksik danced to musical selections presented by composer Mike Massey and his backing band.

The night's biggest winners were folk-pop band PHOX and blues rockers the Family Business, who took home four awards apiece. PHOX was voted best new artist, pop/R&B album (Unblushing), alternative album (Friendship) and folk/Americana song ("Evil"), while the Family Business won best unique song ("Boogie Man"), plus best rock album (Nightmares and Wildest Dreams), song ("Downhill") and performer. Family Business frontman Alec White also nabbed the best male vocalist award.

In addition to winning artist of the year and best blues performer, the Jimmys racked up three instrumentalist awards: brass (Darren Sterud), keyboards (Jimmy Voegeli) and woodwinds (Pete Ross). Isthmus even won a people's choice award for best local music publication/blog.

Proceeds from the voting process will help fund the Madison Area Music Association's efforts to equip schools with instruments and recording tools.

Here's the full list of MAMA winners for 2013.

Genre Awards

Alternative Album: PHOX - Friendship
Alternative Performer: Sexy Ester
Alternative Song: Brandon Beebe - "Ghost"

Blues Album: The People Brothers Band - People Brothers Live
Blues Performer: The Jimmys
Blues Song: The People Brothers Band - "Looky Here Mister"

Classical Album: Scott Lamps - Kindred
Classical Performer: Joe Sokolinsky
Classical Song: Joe Sokolinsky - "Finale"

Country/Bluegrass Album: Beth Kille Dust
Country/Bluegrass Performer: The Dang-Its
Country/Bluegrass Song: Beth Kille "End of the Line"

Electronic Album: Echo Island - In Circles
Electronic Performer: Kicksville
Electronic Song: Granny Tranny Techno - "Who Blows Your Hair?"

Folk/Americana Album: Ida Jo - Uncharted
Folk/Americana Performer: Ida Jo
Folk/Americana Song: PHOX - "Evil"

Hard Rock/Punk Album: Baristacide - Baristacide (US Version)
Hard Rock/Punk Performer: Lords of the Trident
Hard Rock/Punk Song: 4 Aspirin Morning - "Goodbye to Good Intentions"

Hip-Hop Album: Duke Daeo - Further Definitions
Hip-Hop Performer: The Beat Chefs
Hip-Hop Song: Anthony Lamarr - "Elevation"

Jazz Album: Ladies Must Swing - Just For A Thrill
Jazz Performer: Ladies Must Swing
Jazz Song: Harmonious Wail - "Chanson Por Henri Live"

Pop/R&B Album: PHOX - Unblushing
Pop/R&B Performer: The Lucas Cates Band
Pop/R&B Song: The Lucas Cates Band - "Good Folks"

Rock Album: The Family Business - Nightmares and Wildest Dreams
Rock Performer: The Family Business
Rock Song: The Family Business - "Downhill"

Unique Album: The Gomers - Gomerica
Unique Performer: Anna Vogelzang
Unique Song: The Family Business - "Boogie Man"

World Album: The Reptile Palace Orchestra - Songs and Dances of Madisonia
World Performer: Natty Nation
World Song: The Reptile Palace Orchestra - "Sev Kardesim"

Non-Genre Awards

Artist of the Year: The Jimmys
New Artist: PHOX
Compilation Album: Cheddar Revolution Contributors - Cheddar Revolution: Songs of Uprising
Cover Band Performer: The Gomers
Cover Song: Sam Lyons - "Wouldn't It Be Nice"
DJ: Kayla Kush
Video of the Year: Beth Kille - "I Can't Love You Anymore"
Vocalist, Female: Lyndsay Evans (Sexy Ester)
Vocalist, Male: Alec White (The Family Business)
Vocals, Ensemble: The Whiskey Farm
Michael St. John Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Leckrone
Songwriter Award: Marques Bovre
Merit Award: Beth Kille and Conrad St. Clair


Bassist: Scott Lamps
Brass: Darren Sterud (The Jimmys)
Drummer/Percussionist: Paul Kennedy (Sexy Ester)
Guitarist: Louka Patinaude (The Fingers/The Optimistic)
Keyboardist: Jimmy Voegeli (The Jimmys)
Specialty Instrument: Geoff Brady (Theremin) (Yid Vicious)
Strings: Ida Jo
Woodwinds: Pete Ross (The Jimmys)

People's Choice Awards

Fan of the Year: Sarah Warmke
Live Music Venue: High Noon Saloon
Live Sound Engineer: Paul Heenan
Local Music Publication/Blog: Isthmus
Local Radio Personality: Gabby Parsons
Local Radio Station: WORT (89.9 FM)
Local Record Music Store: Strictly Discs
Local Recording Studio: Blast House Studios
Studio Sound Engineer: Mike Zirkel

Youth Instrumentalist Awards

Brass: Jordan Foster (Autumn Underground)
Woodwinds: Nathan Altmann
Keyboardist: Kiara Huemer
Guitarist: Gabe Burdullis
Bassist: Adam Jordahl (Autumn Underground)
Drummer/Percussionist: Emma Witmer (Modern Mod)
Specialty: Colin Callahan (Pro Tools)

Youth Non-Genre Awards

Youth Band: Thief & Rascal
Youth Female Vocalist: Jordan Foster (Autumn Underground)
Youth Male Vocalist: Colin Callahan
Youth Album:Sam Lyons - The Light
Youth Song: Autumn Underground " "Breathe"
Student of the Year: Emily Hefty (Mount Horeb High School)
Teacher of the Year: Steve Sveum (Sun Prairie High School)

Launchpad Madison Regional Winners

The Sleep Cyclists
The Daze
Autumn Underground

1st Chair Program Award Winners

February 2013: Mikko Utevsky
March 2013: Stephanie Brill
April 2013: Brandon Whitish
May 2013: Hannah Mrozak
June 2013: Nicholas Mack

Wish You Were Here Awards (Non-Madison Residents)

Album: Mikayla - Mikayla
Wish You Were Here Song: The Dirty Wings - "Scott Walker, Motherfucker"

Share on Google+

Log in or register to comment

Select a Movie
Select a Theater

Promotions Contact us Privacy Policy Jobs Newsletters RSS
Collapse Photo Bar