MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 
Thursday, November 27, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 19.0° F  Fog/Mist
Collapse Photo Bar

MATC Culinary Arts Program Review: Not Fair

Where are you eating and what do you think? What's opening, closing, succeeding, failing?

MATC Culinary Arts Program Review: Not Fair

Postby john_titor » Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:30 pm

I do not think it was fair to do a review of the MATC Dining Room.
They are learning how to cook.

Jerk + meanie = you.

Moving on....
john_titor
Forum God/Goddess

Re: MATC Culinary Arts Program Review: Not Fair

Postby lolagirl » Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:15 pm

Huh? More information, please. You've started a thread referring to something - but no quote, source, link. I'm curious because I was a student in the culinary arts program many years ago.
lolagirl
Forum Addict

Postby Scotty » Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:40 pm

Scotty
Forum Addict

Postby Kenneth Burns » Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:37 pm

They're charging money. Reviewing is fair and appropriate. Students are involved in University Theatre productions, and we review those too; University Theatre likewise charges money. Our duty is to readers, who, among other things, make consumer choices.
Kenneth Burns
Forum God/Goddess

Postby lolagirl » Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:54 pm

Thanks for the link Scotty - I looked but couldn't find it. I agree with Ken - and would add that being reviewed is part of the process in learning. When I did this (more years ago than I am willing to admit to; let's just say that the campus was still downtown) we were reviewed and critiqued at the end of each meal by our fellow classmates and the teachers. I'm no longer in that line of work, but still remember how much I learned that year.
lolagirl
Forum Addict

Postby john_titor » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:40 am