MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 
Sunday, August 31, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 67.0° F  Fair
Collapse Photo Bar

Town Hall on Madison Music Budget Recommendations is Tonight

Who's making noise in and around Madison? What's new in the business of making music around town? Review shows and CDs here. Please keep all hype in Hype Exchange.

Re: Town Hall on Madison Music Budget Recommendations is Ton

Postby Stebben84 » Thu Nov 08, 2012 11:26 am

Spending 50 grand on a video about Madison is asinine. The mayor has been calling for fiscal responsibility and this just makes no sense.

Also, there is no way we could hold a SxSW like festival here. Every bar in Austin has a stage and that's why it works there. I just don't think the places on State Street can handle this. I'm not a musician so maybe I'm wrong. I'd be curious to here what other foron rock stars think.
Stebben84
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Kyle Motor » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:48 pm

Stebben84 wrote:Spending 50 grand on a video about Madison is asinine. The mayor has been calling for fiscal responsibility and this just makes no sense.

Also, there is no way we could hold a SxSW like festival here. Every bar in Austin has a stage and that's why it works there. I just don't think the places on State Street can handle this. I'm not a musician so maybe I'm wrong. I'd be curious to here what other foron rock stars think.

I think you pretty much nailed it.

Whatever happened to the Forward Music Festival?
Kyle Motor
Forum God/Goddess

Postby jjoyce » Thu Nov 08, 2012 2:01 pm

Why do all these people want Madison to be like somewhere else? Austin is at least an interesting place, but Grand Rapids?

Why not assemble a task force of, y'know, actual music people from Madison and get some ideas there instead of constantly looking elsewhere.

We can't build something like SXSW here. Can't. Shouldn't.