MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 
Thursday, September 18, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 47.0° F  Fog/Mist
Collapse Photo Bar

Wollersheim Cab Sauv. Worst wine ever?

Bars, wine, beer, cocktails, drunken escapades

Wollersheim Cab Sauv. Worst wine ever?

Postby Osso Muriendo » Thu Nov 26, 2009 9:47 pm

I'm relatively new to this wine thing being twenty two, but i know what i like and i spent some time this summer drinking across Italy this summer, so I'm not a complete neophyte. That being said my friend bought a bottle of 2007 Wollersheim Cabernet Sauvignon, and i make no exaggeration, that was the worst wine to come out of a bottle that I've ever had. It tasted like another wine ive (unfortunately) but that came out of a bag and was called Franzia.

Wisconsin has a great GREAT local microbrew beer tradition and i kept hearing Wollersheim mentioned in the same breath as those breweries. Frankly it makes me embarassed for the state that we pretend it's good.

Or was Wollersheim's god-awfullness just a poorly hidden secret?

Their wine tried to ruin my thanksgiving!
Osso Muriendo

Re: Wollersheim Cab Sauv. Worst wine ever?

Postby gargantua » Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:26 pm

This brings up a conundrum. I haven't tried this wine. Your post has made me curious about it, since Wollersheim seems to have a pretty good reputation around here. However, since you hated it, I am reluctant to risk BUYING the wine.

I guess, upon really brief reflection, it isn't worth it to me to find out. However if others have tried it and liked it, I might reconsider. Or not, since how do I know if they are just saying that to get me to try this awful wine?

Thanks a lot, Osso.
gargantua
Forum God/Goddess

Postby iwiw99 » Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:44 pm