MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 
Saturday, December 27, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 27.0° F  Mostly Cloudy
Collapse Photo Bar

Lamb Shawarma

Grocery stores, recipes, cook books, CSAs, farmers' markets, organic, local, processed, corporate. It's a smorgabord!

Lamb Shawarma

Postby Veeder » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:13 pm

Most large cities have cheap, incredible Mediterranean restaurants within its borders. I'm new to Madison and here's what I've tried so far:

Mediterranean Cafe - Decent, cheap - could use a few more like it.

Lulu's - Are you kidding me? I would MAYBE like it at half the price. They don't even serve lamb shawarma and their hummus was barely ok. Falafal was poor.

Kabuls - Good but not exactly a hole-in-the-wall.

Husnus - See Kabuls

Falafal King - Haven't tried it yet.

Anyway, can anyone recommend a decent, cheap hole-in-the-wall that serves good lamb shawarma and hummus?

Also - and please don't berate me for not searching the Forum well enough - is there a decent authentic Vietnamese place in town? Seems like most get average to poor reviews.
Veeder
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Henry Vilas » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:36 pm

"Please Lisa, don't eat me."

Kidding. I'm an omnivore, just don't like lamb.

As far as Vietnamese food, the only place still going in Madison that I've been to is T & M's on Grand Canyon Drive. Don't know what the reviews said, but I thought it was at least OK.
Henry Vilas
Forum God/Goddess

Postby TAsunder » Tue Apr 03, 2007 3:41 pm

Don't know if they have the dish you seek but have you checked the casbah and caspian cafe to see if they are adeuqately dingy and inexpensive for you?
TAsunder
Forum God/Goddess

Postby eriedasch » Tue Apr 03, 2007 5:06 pm

TAsunder wrote:Don't know if they have the dish you seek but have you checked the casbah and caspian cafe to see if they are adeuqately dingy and inexpensive for you?