MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 
Friday, December 26, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 42.0° F  Mostly Cloudy
Collapse Photo Bar

Interesting stuff to photograph nearby

What are the things that puzzle, enrage, delight and tickle you as you go about your life in Madison?

Interesting stuff to photograph nearby

Postby zeropoint » Fri May 31, 2013 6:32 am

I'm a beginning photographer looking for things outside of the obvious to photograph. I posted a thread devoted to looking for abandoned places, but now I'm looking for cool places/things in general. I've already googled and read up on roadside attractions in the Madison area, so I'm set for the "classics." Thanks!
zeropoint

Re: Interesting stuff to photograph nearby

Postby Henry Vilas » Fri May 31, 2013 8:00 am

Dr. Evermor's Dreamkeepers on South Paterson.
Henry Vilas
Forum God/Goddess

Postby zeropoint » Fri May 31, 2013 8:05 am

So funny you suggested those; got up at sunrise to photograph them today and am planning a trip out there as well to Dr. Evermor's.
zeropoint

Postby Detritus » Fri May 31, 2013 8:11 am

I don't know how far along you are in getting comfortable with your camera, but I did a lot of flower and plant photography in the beginning. It's a great way to learn how to control depth of focus etc., and of course the subjects don't run out of patience with you. the botany garden on University at the top of Mills St. has some funky specimens, as does the greenhouse behind Birge, if you're looking for things that don't look "normal."
Detritus
Forum God/Goddess

Postby snoqueen » Fri May 31, 2013 9:11 am

The Flickr stream Isthmus occasionally features (is that still happening?) has some terrific local photos. (If it's not here any more, go to Flickr and enter some relevant search terms about Madison.) Maybe browsing through those will inspire you.