MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 
Monday, July 28, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 62.0° F  A Few Clouds
Collapse Photo Bar

Windows RT

Wiis, PlayStations, iPads, blogging platforms, Facebook and anything else worthy of buzz in the digital world.

Windows RT

Postby Kenneth Burns » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:16 pm

Has anyone used Microsoft's new operating system, Windows RT? It runs on tablets and only lets you install applications written for the new Windows interface, the one Windows 8 boots to. I'm intrigued. There's not a lot of love out there for Windows RT, but it might be the future for Microsoft.
Kenneth Burns
Forum God/Goddess

Re: Windows RT

Postby Sandi » Sat Jun 29, 2013 7:54 pm

As I don't have any mobile devices, I maybe shouldn't even comment, but I have read a few articles about it. Also because I am a programmer I understand operating systems. The reviews are not encouraging.

A big con is MS included Windows 8 desktop tools. This gave developers the choice of writing apps for the ARM architecture (used in mobile devices) or ARM with RT (Intel-based Windows 8 ). Most developers chose to write applications for the proven
ARM core used in PDAs and smartphones, but are not interested in developing for RT.

Also RT apps can only be purchased in the Windows Store. That doesn't give buyers much reason to buy a Window RT tablet over an iPad or Android.

Microsoft is cutting the price to help poor sales, but I don't see it making much headway. As I said I don't presently own any mobile devices, but think you should stick with the broader market.

More reasons to avoid it here.
Sandi
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Kenneth Burns » Sat Jun 29, 2013 8:48 pm