MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 
james madison beach
Wednesday, July 30, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 62.0° F  Fair
Collapse Photo Bar

TDS Outage/slowdown

Wiis, PlayStations, iPads, blogging platforms, Facebook and anything else worthy of buzz in the digital world.

TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:08 pm

Any TDS DSL customers in the Madison area might like to know that the service has been suffering from "capacity problems" since 1/16/10. My 4Mbps down/768Kbps up has been slowed to about .5 Mbps down/.7 up, making it difficult to do my work (I telecommute 2x per week).

I've made several calls to TDS support asking about the nature of the problem and you know how it is, you get a slightly different interpretation of what's going on from each rep you talk to. From what I've been able to piece together, they are suffering from capacity problems and are performing some upgrades that are supposed to be done by by 2/12/10.

If you've been affected by this degradation of service you can request a refund, and if you contact tech support they say they'll notify you when the problem has been resolved.

I've always been happy with my TDS DSL service and this is the first hiccup I've had in over 3 years. Hopefully this upgrade will allow a faster offering from them- AT&T DSL offers 6Mbps down for $45/mo which is what I pay for my TDS 4Mbps down.
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby snoqueen » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:47 pm

I use TDS and so far I'm getting normal service. Is this problem limited to a certain area?
snoqueen
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 11306
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 11:42 pm

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby Henry Vilas » Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:51 pm

I've got the cheapest TDS DSL (supposedly 1 Mbps) and I've noticed that is has gotten gradually slower over the years. I hope this upgrade helps speed it up.
Henry Vilas
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 19600
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2002 8:57 pm
Location: Name sez it all

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby Thusnelda » Mon Feb 08, 2010 8:15 pm

Hey Henry, you should call them and check on what kind of deal you can get now. With a 15-minute call, my parents got something ten times faster for half the price. The company just counts on you to not remember, which leads you to pay more for speeds they might not even offer.
Thusnelda
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 10:30 am

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Mon Feb 08, 2010 9:57 pm

Hey Snoqueen,

From what they are saying, the issue is confined to "the Madison area". Not sure what that means exactly, but I live by East.
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby lukpac » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:04 am

I'm affected - getting roughly .5 meg down, although sometimes faster very late at night. Off of Lakeside St - served by the Main St. central office.

I was initially told it was an issue with the equipment at the central office, but near East is served by the Kedzie CO, and I know another person with slowness issued served from Kezdie. So it apparently spans multiple COs.

Last week I was told it might be fixed by last Friday, which didn't happen. I called again today but didn't get an ETA.

On an semi-related note, my sync speed (the actual speed the modem connects at) has been dropping for 2 years. When the line was installed in 2008, I was getting 2500-2700kbps. That's down to 1300-1500kbps now. Every time I mention this I'm told "there aren't any problems with your line, you're just too far away to get any faster speeds". I'm pretty sure my house hasn't moved in the past 2 years. Nobody seems willing to do anything about it.
lukpac
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:11 am

Where can you find your sync speed? It's not on my WAN Status page (actiontec modem, firmware 3.130.1.0.6.1-GT704-WG).

I wonder if they are giving everyone the "by the end of the week" story. I was told by the end of this week- we'll see.

I may have to pick up charter for a month while I switch my phone and DSL service to AT&T. I'd go with U-Verse 12Mbps, but they require that you have cable TV too, which I don't want.
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby narcoleptish » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:12 pm

I have TDS and I've found that if I use a vantor wall startup sequence with a 232 tm. docking status, I can usually bring my kbps averages into the 2200 range, not bad for a commodore23 running 18mkf through a coolio-1620 unlocked float RAM.
narcoleptish
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 3615
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 1:35 am

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:21 pm

narcoleptish wrote:I have TDS and I've found that if I use a vantor wall startup sequence with a 232 tm. docking status, I can usually bring my kbps averages into the 2200 range, not bad for a commodore23 running 18mkf through a coolio-1620 unlocked float RAM.


ROFLMAO! That just made my day, thank you!
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby lukpac » Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:48 pm

MadDad202 wrote:Where can you find your sync speed? It's not on my WAN Status page (actiontec modem, firmware 3.130.1.0.6.1-GT704-WG).


I've got a newer firmware, but the same modem. The speed should be about halfway down the page. Like this:

Speed (down/up): 1504 / 576 Kbps

And actually, I have another modem around here with the firmware you have, and the speed is there too.
lukpac
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:05 pm

Ah, thanks, didn't realize that was the sync speed. Mine says 4672/832 Kbps. I'll look for a more recent firmware rev also.
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby lukpac » Tue Feb 09, 2010 8:14 pm

MadDad202 wrote:Ah, thanks, didn't realize that was the sync speed. Mine says 4672/832 Kbps. I'll look for a more recent firmware rev also.


You likely don't have any problems with the physical connection then. 832 is the top speed for upload, and 4672 may be for download (not sure...I never got close to that). You're probably a less than a mile from the CO, so that's about right.
lukpac
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby MadDad202 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:29 pm

Update: I called support for a status update and was told they have 120 customers on record affected by this problem. I am less hopeful it'll get fixed this week since the rep for this call could not find an ETA of any kind in the case notes.
MadDad202
Member
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 5:50 pm
Location: East Madison

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby JonathanB » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:47 pm

I'm in the Eastmorland neighborhood, and am probably one of the 120 "on record". That makes me wonder how many customers are affected that haven't called for support...

I just made my fourth call to support in two weeks, and all I get from the techs is they know there's a problem, and they don't know when it will be fixed. Very frustrating.
JonathanB
Member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:39 pm

Re: TDS Outage/slowdown

Postby lukpac » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:51 pm

Hey, I know you...
lukpac
Forum God/Goddess
 
Posts: 3362
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 1:51 pm
Location: Madison

Next

Return to Technology & Video Games

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

moviesmusiceats
Select a Movie
Select a Theater


commentsViewedForum
  ISTHMUS FLICKR

Promotions Contact us Privacy Policy Jobs Newsletters RSS
Collapse Photo Bar