MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus:         Newsletters 
Saturday, December 27, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 27.0° F  Mostly Cloudy
Collapse Photo Bar

Specialty Coffee in Madison

Where are you eating and what do you think? What's opening, closing, succeeding, failing?

Specialty Coffee in Madison

Postby kimm » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:22 am

I'm new to the specialty coffee scene, as a friend on the East Coast just started her own specialty roasting business. I'm a loyal mailorder customer of hers, and recently picked up a Chemex to improve my coffee brewing at work without the mess of a French press. Treked over to Johnson Bros. at Christmastime for some gifts based on their Bucky Book coupon and wanting to check them out, but otherwise I'm a novice to the local scene.

Anyway, my palate needs a little training to get at a finer appreciation of nuanced flavors. Any local roasters offer cuppings?
kimm
Forum Addict

Re: Specialty Coffee in Madison

Postby Rozydog » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:18 am

If you don't mind a little drive, you could try Kickapoo Coffee Roasters in Viroqua, WI. They won roaster of the year in 2010. From their web page:

http://www.kickapoocoffee.com/

"We open our tasting room to the public the last Friday of every month at 10:00 AM. Stop by to get a tour of the roastery and "cup" coffees from around the world. Bring any coffee related questions with you."

You can try their coffees in Madison at La Brioche True Food on University ave. or Bradburys on N. Hamilton.

http://labriochetruefood.com/menu.html
http://www.bradburyscoffee.com/sample-page/

All there roasts are excellent!
Rozydog

Postby barney » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:44 am

Love Kickapoo Coffee! If memory serves me correctly, you can get a Kickapoo Coffee CSA from Harmony Valley.
barney
Forum God/Goddess

Postby rrnate » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:50 am