MOBILE USERS: m.isthmus.com
Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 
Saturday, July 26, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 77.0° F  Overcast
Collapse Photo Bar

Have you paid off your student loans?

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, it fits here

Have you paid off your student loans?

Postby Henry Vilas » Sat May 25, 2013 10:40 am

I didn't have to take out much money to go to college. Tuition was much lower when I went to school than it is today. I did have a relatively small loan when I left school and joined the Navy. When I got out, I finished my degrees with the help of the GI Bill. But today, many graduates are burdened with heavy debt. Some even say that it wasn't worth going to college, because of that debt.

I found the following quotes quite interesting:
“You can’t discharge student loans in bankruptcy, there is no refinancing of student loans, there is no statute of limitations on student loans,” (Scot Ross, executive director of One Wisconsin Now) said.

“I like to say there are five crimes with no statute of limitations: Murder, kidnapping, treason, war crimes and student loans.”
Henry Vilas
Forum God/Goddess

Re: Have you paid off your student loans?

Postby Violet_Skye » Sat May 25, 2013 10:48 am

I agree with them. It's a life sentence.
Violet_Skye
Forum God/Goddess

Postby TeachInPeace » Sat May 25, 2013 11:17 am

I got lucky - tuition didn't really go up dramatically until my senior year. I escaped with about 9,000 in loans, which mostly got discharged and paid off with Americorps Service Awards. I do find irony in borrowing money from the govt to go to school, and then paying that money off with more govt money. I guess that makes sense to someone though.
TeachInPeace

Postby rabble » Sat May 25, 2013 3:53 pm

When I graduated I was in my forties and owed about 30k. My last parent passed away two years later. My share of the estate was a little over 35k.
rabble
Forum God/Goddess

Postby Sandi » Sun May 26, 2013 1:37 am