Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters 

Wednesday, July 23, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 80.0° F  Mostly Cloudy
The Paper


Let's have an election! 13 of 20 Madison city council seats disputed in spring 2011

Article Tools:Read moreRead more News items
Email this articleEmail this article
Print this articlePrint This Article
Email the authorEmail the author

The deadline for candidate filings came and went Tuesday evening and, according to the Madison City Clerk's office, 13 Common Council seats will be disputed, along with the mayor's office. Candidates in races with more than two filings will face a primary on February 15. Otherwise, the general election is slated for April 5.

Madison Mayor Dave Cieslewicz will face challengers Paul Soglin, John Blotz, Dennis de Nure and Nick Hart. Architect Kenton Peters apparently didn't file the appropriate paper work to attain ballot status.

Incumbents face challengers in seven races for Common Council:

  • In the 2nd, Samuel Stevenson challenges first-term Ald. Bridge Maniaci.

  • In the 6th, Twink Jan-McMahon takes on Ald. Marsha Rummel.

  • Ald. Steve King, incumbent in the 7th, faces challenger Nathan Judnic.

  • In the 9th, veteran Ald. Paul Skidmore faces Rick Cruz.

  • Ald. Brian Solomon will attempt to hold off Nelson Donovan and Tom Farley in the 10th, which will see a primary on Feb. 15.

  • Ald. Chris Schmidt is challenged by Brandon White in the 11th.

  • Ald. Joe Clausius is challenged by Spencer White in the 17th.

Meanwhile, seats left open by departing alders in six districts will be disputed:

  • Matthew Brink, Brian Driscoll, Lisa Subeck, Thomas Daniel and Richard Williams will face off in a primary in the 1st District, with Jed Sanborn stepping down.

  • Christian Barry, Scott Resnick and Kyle Szarynski will also see a primary in the 8th, Bryon Eagon's former district.

  • Julia Kerr vacates the 13th, leading to a primary between Micah Berken, Sue Ellingson, Michael Lester and TJ Mertz.

  • The 16th, formerly held by longtime Ald. Judy Compton, will be disputed by Jill Johnson and Ryan McKee.

  • Michael Schumacher's natty shirts will no longer occupy the 18th District's chair, leaving Peng Her, Anita Weier and Steven Coleman to run in the primary.

  • Dave Glomp and Matt Phair face off in the 20th, formerly staffed by Thuy Pham-Remmele.

Getting a free pass with no opponents are incumbents Lauren Cnare (3rd), Mike Verveer (4th), Shiva Bidar-Sielaff (5th), Satya Rhodes-Conway (12th), Tim Bruer (14th), Larry Palm (15th) and Mark Clear (19th).

Add to DiggShare this item

Log in or register to comment

Select a Movie
Select a Theater

Promotions Contact us Privacy Policy Jobs Newsletters RSS
Collapse Photo Bar