Connect with Isthmus on Twitter · Facebook · Flickr · Newsletters · Instagram 

Saturday, August 23, 2014 |  Madison, WI: 75.0° F  Fog/Mist
The Paper
Share on Google+
Winning team

Subsequent to elections, such as the one we had this week and the ones we will execute periodically from now until November, the talk is about winners and losers: who won, who will win and the whys and wherefores of all this electoral end product. This week I'll take a break from all that and talk only about winners.

Various writers associated with Isthmus, as well as Isthmus itself, have gathered a few laurels in recent weeks, or will in coming weeks. This is a good time to get them on the record before the June 5 recall showdown dominates discourse. (Of course it's already started, as reflected in our news and opinion pages this week.)

In the April 20 issue I mentioned contributor Mary Ellen Gabriel's short nonfiction award from the Council for Wisconsin Writers for her article concerning Ho-Chunk history in the Wisconsin Magazine of History. Amelia Cook, who also contributes to Isthmus, received an honorable mention from Wisconsin People & Ideas for her poem "The Pink Orange" in the Wisconsin Book Festival 2012 poetry contest.

Isthmus news editor Judith Davidoff has been designated a Woman of Achievement by Wisconsin Women in Government and will be honored at the group's 25th anniversary banquet on May 24. The announcement read, in part, "You were chosen among a competitive field of finalists on the basis of your extraordinary contributions to the field of journalism, your commitment and service to the community, and the impact you have had on furthering the advancement of women within journalism and throughout the state of Wisconsin." Davidoff returned to the Isthmus staff last August after a long stint at The Capital Times.

The Milwaukee Press Club has changed the format of their Excellence in Journalism competition. Three finalists have been named in each category and will be awarded first, second and third places at the club's annual Gridiron Awards Dinner on May 18. Isthmus contends in two print categories. Andy Moore is cited for his Close to Home column in the Best Column category. And a raft of staffers are being honored in the Best Multi-Story Coverage of a Single Feature Topic or Event for their coverage of the Wisconsin Capitol protests. They are Bill Lueders, Dean Robbins, Jason Joyce, Kristian Knutsen, Joe Tarr and Linda Falkenstein. We're proud of them regardless of the final ranking.

Share on Google+

Log in or register to comment

Select a Movie
Select a Theater

Promotions Contact us Privacy Policy Jobs Newsletters RSS
Collapse Photo Bar